Top

Presentation of the GIP ARRONAX

Arronax is an acronym for Accelerator for Research in Radiochemistry and Oncology in Nantes-Atlantique. This concerns a particle accelerator (cyclotron). ARRONAX is also an allusion to Professor Aronnax, a character in the novel entitled “20,000 leagues under the sea” by Jules Verne (born in Nantes in 1828).

Arronax is a public interest group (GIP). A public interest group is a grouping of several public and private-sector members formed by convention and approved by the State. The GIP Arronax’s members are the State and the Pays de la Loire Regional Council, leading national research organizations, higher education and research institutions and hospitals. Its members convene a general meeting that elects its President and Vice-President.

Drone view of the ARRONAX cyclotron

 

The GIP Arronax is formed, by convention, for a renewable period of 25 years. It is primarily responsible for operating the Arronax cyclotron, which is a leading international research and development platform. Management responsibility lies with the director of the GIP, who signs research contracts and service contracts with national or international, public or industrial partners.

Arronax is thus a public research institute with private administration of accounts. In a manner of speaking, it is a mixed economy system enabling it to cooperate on equal terms with public research partners while acting like a company in its dealings with industrial clients (SIRET (business registration) number: 13000411200012, DUNS number: 295659028).

The staff working in the GIP include researchers, engineers and technicians placed on secondment by its members, and GIP employees. Advisers and several members of partner laboratories collaborate on a regular basis with the GIP’s activities. The GIP Arronax has 48 staff, corresponding to 41.6 full-time equivalent positions.

Haut

Présentation du GIP ARRONAX

ARRONAX signifie « Accélérateur pour la Recherche en Radiochimie et Oncologie à Nantes Atlantique ». Il s’agit d’un accélérateur de particules (cyclotron). ARRONAX est également un clin d’œil au Professeur Aronnax, personnage du roman de Jules Verne (né à Nantes en 1828) intitulé « 20.000 lieux sous les mers ».

Statutairement, Arronax est un Groupement d’Intérêt Public (GIP). Un GIP est un groupement de plusieurs membres publics et privés, constitué par convention, agréée par l’Etat. Les membres du GIP Arronax sont l’Etat et la Région Pays de la Loire, des grands Organismes nationaux de recherche, des établissements d’enseignement supérieur et de recherche, des hôpitaux. Les membres sont réunis au sein d’une Assemblée Générale qui élit son président et son vice président.

Vue drone du cylotron ARRONAX

 

Le GIP Arronax est constitué, par convention,  pour une durée de 25 ans, renouvelable. Il a d’abord en charge l’exploitation du cyclotron Arronax qui constitue une grande plateforme de Recherche Développement à vocation internationale. La responsabilité de management revient au directeur du GIP qui signe des contrats de recherche et des contrats de prestations avec des partenaires nationaux ou internationaux, publics ou industriels.

Arronax est ainsi un institut de recherche public doté d’une gestion comptable privée. C’est en quelque sorte un système d’économie mixte qui lui permet à la fois de coopérer d’égal à égal avec des partenaires publics de la recherche et de se comporter comme une entreprise vis à vis de clients industriels (Siret : 13000411200012, DUNS : 295659028).

Les personnels travaillant au sein du GIP sont, des chercheurs, ingénieurs, techniciens mis à disposition par ses membres et des salariés du GIP. Des conseillers et plusieurs membres des laboratoires partenaires collaborent régulièrement aux activités du GIP. Le nombre de personnel du GIP Arronax est de 48 personnes correspondant à 41,6 equivalent temps plein.